top of page

Our History

On August 25, 1979, the Magnificent Mu Upsilon Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was chartered.

Charter Members_w Joyce Cosby (1).jpg

Front Row: J. Leslie Cosby, Catherine Mickle, Regional Director: Deloris H. Oliver, Thelma J.

Mosley, Claronelle Griffin, Geraldine Miller, Yvonne Rawls

Middle Row: Lois Harrison, Audrey Johnson, Glenda Warren, Nancy Hill, Betty Abbott, Christine

Harper, LaKay Banks, Bettye Jennings

Back Row: Audrey Franklin, Marie Herring, Ira Jean James, Gloria Simmons, Evelyn Mickle, Angela


*Joyce L. Cosby added on the right.

The chartering members are:

Thelma J. Mosley, President

Bettye Jennings

Betty Abbott

Audrey Johnson

LaKay Banks

Catherine Mickle

Joyce L. Cosby

Evelyn Mickle

Audrey Franklin

Geraldine Miller

ivy _edited.png

Claronelle Griffin

J. Leslie Cosby

Christine Harper

Yvonne C. Rawls

Lois Harrison

Gloria Simmons

Marie Herring

Angela Terrell

Nancy Hill

Glenda Warren

Ira Jean James

ivy _edited.png

Service since 1979

Mu Upsilon Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha has become most well known in our community for our signature programs and fundraisers. Among our many successful local initiatives, our Pink Goes Red for Heart Health, our Seasonal Wraps give-away, and our longest running initiative the annual Pink Dress Luncheon for breast cancer education have made particularly positive impacts in the Gainesville community.



The Mu Upsilon Omega chapter has made significant contributions to our local community as its members serve as leaders leaving lasting impact on our community. With over 75 members, the Ivy Vine of the Mu Upsilon Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. continues to grow stronger and its roots deepen as we strive for the betterment of all mankind.

ivy _edited.png

Executive Board

ivy _edited.png

Kimberly Green


Stephanie Seawright


Profile pic.webp

Amelia Hall


Profile pic.webp

Debbra Livingston


Profile pic.webp

Janet Hayes

Corresponding Secretary

Profile pic.webp

Tia Stover

Graduate Advisor

Profile pic.webp

Shilah Carroll


Latalyia McKnight

Latalyia McKnight

Ivy Leaf Reporter

Geraldine McClellan

Geraldine McClellan


Profile pic.webp

Cynthia Cooper

Financial Secretary

Profile pic.webp

Linda Castro Fields

Chapter Liasion

Profile pic.webp

Anterria Ellerbe


Profile pic.webp

Meshon Rawls


Profile pic.webp

Shirley Green-Brown

Assistant Chaplain

bottom of page